SEO KPIs, or Search Engine Optimization Key Performance Indicators, are metrics that help you improve your SEO efforts.
In order to measure progress, you need to track KPIs. Tracking achievements is crucial because it allows us to reflect on what we’re doing and how we can do better. If you want your SEO efforts to be successful, then you should be keeping an eye on KPIs (Key Performance Indicators).
SEO ROI is a key performance indicator that measures how much revenue you get from your SEO efforts. You should make sure that your ROI meets or beats your expectations.
If you don’t know what it takes to generate a sale, then you won’t know what it costs to generate that sale either. This makes it difficult to compare activities and figure out which ones better generate revenue.
For an SEO campaign, the KPIs will vary depending on the type of site you’re working with. If you have a B2C site, then your KPIs might be sales conversions from organic search traffic and customer lifetime value (CLV). If your site is B2B, then your key metrics might be lead generation and conversion rates from organic search.
The Sales Conversion KPI measures the number of sales made as a result of a marketing campaign. It is a way for marketers to assess the effectiveness of their efforts and make changes to increase conversions.
The sales conversion KPI is usually measured in percentages and shows how many people who were exposed to an ad or landing page ended up taking action. For example, if 100 people saw an ad and 20 purchased a product, then you would have a 20% sales conversion rate.
Leads Conversion KPI shows the percentage of visitors who have converted into leads or customers. It can be used to measure the effectiveness of various marketing strategies, including SEO.
If your company has recently launched a new product or service, then it may take some time for people to become aware of it and start making purchases. In this case, you may see that there are no conversions happening until after six months or so from when you first launched the product or service on your website.
Organic visibility refers to how much traffic a website receives from organic (nonpaid) search results. It’s calculated by dividing the total number of impressions for a given keyword by the average position for that keyword.
The organic visibility KPI is calculated by adding up the average positions of all of your pages on Google search results. The higher this number, the more visible your content.
Organic Visibility = Average Position of Your Pages on Google Search Results
KPI does not measure actual traffic; it measures the average position of your pages on Google search results.
Organic session KPI is a metric used to measure the number of sessions that are generated by users from organic search. It shows how many people have visited your site directly from Google search results.
The organic sessions count tracks not only the number of sessions but also the duration of each session. This is particularly important because if someone comes to your site and does not stay long, then maybe they didn’t find what they were looking for. The opposite could also be true. If someone stays on your site for a long time, this could also mean they couldn’t find what they were looking for.
Organic Session KPI = (Sessions) x (Session Length)
Branded traffic refers to the amount of traffic that comes from a search engine that has your brand or company name in it. It’s one of the best indicators of how well your brand is ranking on search engines and how well it’s performing.
The higher this number is, the more traffic you’ll get from people who are looking specifically for you. The lower it is, the less likely it is that someone will be searching for your brand online.
Non-branded traffic is traffic that comes from sources other than your branded search terms.
You can measure non-branded traffic by taking your overall organic traffic and deleting the branded search terms.
Branded vs. Non-Branded Traffic
If you’re selling a product or service, branded traffic can be more valuable than non-branded traffic. This type of visitor has already expressed an interest in what you have to offer and has demonstrated intent by searching for it online. As a result, they’re much easier sells and will convert at a much higher rate than non-branded visitors.
Keyword rankings how high your website ranks for certain keywords in search engines.
A high rank can increase traffic to your website, generate more leads and increase conversions. You can use them as a benchmark to compare performance over time. One of the best aspects of rankings is it is a metric you can easily get on your competitors.
Backlinks are links that point to your website from other websites. Having more of these links can help your site rank higher in search results and get more traffic.
The Backlinks KPI is a measurement of how many backlinks your website has, how many unique domains they belong to, their link authority, and more.
Organic CTR is the click-through rate is calculated by dividing the number of clicks on a link by the number of times it appeared in search results. The higher your organic CTR, the more people will click on your website from Google’s search results. This means you’ll be getting more traffic from Google.
Bounce rate is the percentage of users that leave your website without interacting with it. A high bounce rate indicates that people have a poor experience on your site.
Average Time on Page
The average time on page is a measure of how long people stay on your website. The higher the time on page, the better it is for your website’s performance.
The average time on page metric is calculated by dividing the total amount of time spent on the site by the number of unique visitors per month.
Coverage Issues covers all the reasons why your site might not be getting indexed. This includes page errors, 404s, 301, canonical tabs, robots.txt and more.
PageSpeed measures how quickly a user will be able to access your content. If your website loads slowly, users will become frustrated and leave.
Customer Lifetime Value
The customer lifetime value (CLV) shows how much money each customer brings to your business. CLV is calculated by multiplying the average revenue per user by the number of years that the user stays with you.
For example, if a company makes $100 from an average customer and each customer stays for 5 years, then its CLV is $100 x 5 = $500.
Cost per click
The Cost per click KPI for Organic SEO Marketing is the same as any other form of digital marketing. You want to know how much you are spending and what the return on your investment is.
To calculate your organic search CPC, you would take the total amount you spent on SEO and divide it by your amount of traffic.
Your budget / Website traffic